a chicken pot pie that won’t kill you…

Fall is coming…..

If you are a Game of Thrones fan, you will get my little joke (switch winter with fall and you’ll be all Stark-like!). If not, the statement is still rings true. Fall is indeed coming!

And cooler weather means comfort food like chicken pot pie. One of my favorites…mmmm.  As I’ve mentioned, my favorite recipe is a Weight Watchers recipe, which is packed for of chicken and veggies and normally calls for four reduced-fat crescent rolls as the “pie crust.” And I’m not a big fan of those things. Sooo, I searched around for the perfect pie crust recipe (read: so easy that I couldn’t mess it up). I’ve never made pie crust from scratch, nor do I have a food processor, so I also wanted one that was super simple that I could make, literally, by hand. I found a recipe at Baking Bites.

It turned out wonderful. I will never buy those refrigerated pie crusts again!

My house still smelled like burning, though, because the pot pie juices dripped while cooking and burned on the oven floor. Yay, me! Lesson: put a cookie sheet or something under the pie dish.

OK, so here’s the scoop. The pot pie filling is healthy; we’re cool with that. The pie crust has a lot of butter in it. And you are only using one on top, so it all balances out to an OK meal, right?


Here’s my pot pie filling simmering away. Look at all the veggies and chicken goodness!


And here’s my pot pie complete the homemade pie crust…all ready for the oven! Please note I don’t know how to flute a pie crust. In fact, just saying “flute” makes me think of Ron Burgundy playing the jazz flute on a mountaintop (“that’s baby-making music right there, that’s what it is”).


And here it is, all cooked.


And a slice of goodness for you, my friends!

Now for the recipe. I made the pie crust first, then let it chill while I prepared the pot pie filling:

Homemade Pie Crust (recipe from Baking Bites)
INGREDIENTS

1 1/3 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
6 tbsp butter, chilled and cut into pieces
4-6 tbsp cold water

DIRECTIONS
Stir together flour, sugar and salt in a medium bowl. Add in butter and rub it into the flour mixture with your fingertips, forming pieces no larger than a pea. Stir in 4 tbsp cold water with a fork, letting the dough come together. Add additional water until dough forms a rough ball (I didn’t need more than the recipe states, but it can vary). Wrap dough in plastic wrap, press down into a disc and chill until ready to use. When ready to use, roll out a little larger than the pie plate. Place over filling and seal edges (“flute” edges if you have those mad skills). Make sure to cut some slits on the top to allow steam to escape while cooking.

Healthy Chicken Pot Pie Filling (recipe from Weight Watchers)

INGREDIENTS
cooking spray
1 tsp butter
1 small onion(s), chopped
2 cup(s) mushroom(s), sliced   (I am sure I added more than this)
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp dried thyme, crushed
1/2 tsp table salt, or more to taste
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 cup(s) frozen mixed vegetables   (I used the whole bag)
1 cup(s) canned chicken broth
3 cup(s) cooked chicken breast without skin
2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1/2 cup(s) fat-free evaporated milk, divided

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 375ºF. Coat a 10-inch round shallow baking dish with cooking spray.
  • Coat a large pot with cooking spray. Add butter and melt over medium heat. Add onion and mushrooms and cook, until tender, stirring frequently, about 5 minutes. Stir in paprika, thyme, salt and pepper. Add vegetables, broth and chicken. Cover and simmer 15 minutes.
  • In a small cup, combine flour and 1/4 cup of evaporated milk; stir into chicken mixture. Cook over medium heat until thickened, stirring constantly, about 2 minutes. Stir in remaining 1/4 cup of evaporated milk and cook until mixture is slightly thickened, about 2 to 3 minutes more.
  • Spoon chicken mixture into prepared baking dish. Place pie crust on top. Bake until pie crust is golden brown – this took about 40 minutes for me. (If the pie crust edges get too brown, you can place some foil strips on top of them.)
With comfort food like this, I have to say I’m ready for fall. What about you?

 

One thought on “a chicken pot pie that won’t kill you…

  1. Oh I LOVE chicken pot pie…mmmm, I agree with you on the crescent roll dough though – its just not the best. I have yet to be brave enough to try making it myself, but I think you’ve motivated me to give it a go sometime. I’m actually really looking forward to fall so I can make more soups and comfort food again…and I’m just tired of the 98* weather. Blah. Of course, I know I’ll be cursing the snow when it comes – but right now that sounds pretty good!

Leave a Reply

