s’mores cookies, no camping necessary…

Confession time.

I was a Girl Scout, but I never went camping.

Shocking, isn’t it? How did I earn all those merit badges without having the pleasure of sleeping outdoors with bugs and spiders and snakes? We all know it was certainly not through cooking. Ha! Look at me – I made a little joke.

But seriously, I’ve never spent the night in a tent, on the ground, under the stars, et cetera. And mark my words: I never will, if I have anything to say about it.

I prefer a bed. And smooth, high-thread-count sheets on that bed. So my point of all this? I have managed through sheer will and determination to escape camping (hell) while still allowing myself the (few) gastronomical pleasures associated with this outdoorsy pastime.

I grew up in a relatively rural area, so come summertime, there were no shortages of bonfires at friends’  houses and late nights spent grilling hot dogs on sticks and charring marshmallows. I like my marshmallows on fire, sizzling, crispy on the outside and molten in the middle. I don’t have the patience for toasting a marshmallow – I light that baby on fire. And it’s delicious.

Anyhow, since it’s nine-kazillion degrees outside, I figured what better time to heat up my house with the oven?

No doubt you’ve seen the numerous iterations of s’mores recipes online (and especially on Pinterest). This one was the easiest recipe I could find. I am lazy. Don’t like too much work or too many steps.

Anyhow. Cookies. The recipe can be found at Some Kitchen Stories, which is a food blog with an interesting concept – original stories accompany each post. Pretty cool.

I let my cookies bake a little longer than the recipe because I like a crispier cookie. And now that you know how I like to cook my marshmallows…can you be surprised?

Only thing I’d change about this recipe? I’d add more marshmallows. Other than that, it’s pretty darn tasty.

I’ve switched around a few steps because you need to chill the dough for at least an hour, so unless your oven is crazy slow, you do not need to preheat it first thing (for over an hour).

S’more Cookies (via Some Kitchen Stories)

INGREDIENTS

11 TBSP unsalted butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, packed
½ cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
2 ½ cups flour
½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup mini marshmallows (I added a little bit more, but wish I would’ve used even more!)
3 regular sized Hershey’s bars, broken into pieces (I used 4 king sized bars – I’m generous with my chocolate)
1-2 packages graham crackers, broken into squares (I used 2 ½ packages – seriously!)

DIRECTIONS

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, sea salt and cinnamon to combine. Set aside.

In an electric or stand mixer, cream butter with white and brown sugar until fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla. Combine.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixer slowly, on low speed.

Fold in the chocolate chips and marshmallows. Chill dough in refrigerator for 1 hour to overnight. (I chilled mine for 90 mins – it hardened up nicely.)

While dough is chillin’ like a villain, line two baking pans with parchment. (Why parchment? I’m guessing it’s because these cookies can really stick if the dough spills over the graham cracker onto the pan, so the parchment worked out quite well. Plus it makes it easy to transfer the entire batch, in one go, to the wire rack for cooling.)

Place graham crackers side by side on pans as close as possible (they should be touching).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Place tablespoons of dough on graham crackers about 1 – 1 ½ inches apart. Wet your fingers with water and press the cookie dough down a little until flat. (This step took longer than I thought!)

Bake for 5 minutes then remove from oven to press Hershey’s pieces on to the top. (I did 1-2 pieces per cookie, depending on how generous I was feeling. One piece per cookie is perfect, really, though. I went overboard.)

Bake for 5 – 7 more minutes or until dough starts to turn golden brown. Cool on wire rack. Slice when cool. (I totally ignored this and sliced off one piece. They are a lot easier to cut once completely cooled. Really. You won’t wait, though, because it smells too good!)


Say hello to the trusty spoonula! Here it is, folding in the marshmallows.


Rationalization = these cookies are healthy because graham crackers have calcium in them! Mmm-hmm. Really.


Here’s the cookies at the 5-minute mark, when you take them out of the oven to place the little Hershey’s piece on each cookie.


And the sliced cookies, ready to eat.


Just like that, they’re gone. Yum!
And you’re left with a semi-nekkid hula girl and a few stray crumbs.
Also, if you are like me, you also are reminded why your stomach looks nothing like hers. This is when I say, “I may not be skinny, but I got my calcium for the day. Thanks, graham crackers!”

I have way too many cookies in my house. Anyone want some? 🙂

Leave a Reply

