so-so day = yummy soft pretzels

One of my friends asked me, “Do you actually cook anything? Or do you just bake?”

I completely understand that question. I do cook. Not always well, mind you.

But it’s not the same as baking, where I get all floury (I told you I’m messy) and sometimes I even get to play with dough. Baking is far more cathartic for me. When I have a so-so day, I don’t want to cook chicken marsala…I want to bake zucchini bread.

I think it comes down to the smells. Baking smells homey and comforting. And on an off day, I need that.

So my house smells fantastic tonight because I made soft pretzels. Yuuuum. I will admit, though, it did smell like burning for a bit. This blog is aptly named sometimes. My oven was on way too high for stuff NOT to burn, to be honest.

Anyhow, here’s proof that my soft pretzels are not cinders.

Indeed, they were soft, buttery, salty goodness.

I picked the easiest recipe I could find (thanks, The Curvy Carrot) because I’m lazy and don’t like too many steps, but I’ve been eyeing a recipe for pretzel rolls that I found on Pinterest…and I don’t think I’ll be able to resist those for long. Could you imagine a ham and cheese sandwich on a warm, homemade pretzel roll with honey mustard? Mmmm.

Anyhow, these pretzels made my so-so day a little bit better. Maybe they’ll do the same for you.

Leave a Reply

