ridiculous triple chocolate oreo chunk cookies…

The word of the day, you guys, is ridiculous.

I said that word no less than a dozen times while whipping up a batch of these Triple Chocolate Oreo Chunk cookies (recipe from the awesome two peas & their pod).

When was the first time I said the word? When I dropped two sticks of butter, along with a cup each of white and brown sugar into the Kitchen-Aid mixing bowl. And of course, it was said to no one in particular. Just a quiet, measured, “OK, this just might be ridiculous.”

While I was chopping up a bar of baking chocolate (I used 60% cacao bittersweet Ghiradelli), I uttered the word yet again: “C’mon, this is getting a bit ridiculous.”

And by the time I poured a cup of white chocolate baking chips (all I had on-hand) into the mixing bowl, I was growing animated. “Ridiculous! Ridiculous! These cookies are going to be ridiculous!”

I felt a wave of guilt as I threw in the crushed Oreos. I mean, look at this bowl.

Crazy ridiculous dough.

I really did need my heavy duty Crate & Barrel spoonula. Heh – I just love saying that. Spoonula! 

The batter, which was thick and heavy, smelled divine.

As a side note, I admit I tasted a tiny bit of the cocoa powder that spilled on the countertop (I make a big mess). It reminded me of the first time I smelled vanilla as a kid. It was the most wonderful smell…and I needed to EAT it. And I did – it was so strong and made my nose wrinkle in distaste. The cocoa powder is a little like that. Smells fantastic, all rich and chocolately…but tastes….well…meh. And this is why we bake with it and don’t eat it straight-up. Yeah, yeah, I know.

I did not use parchment paper as the recipe recommended, but just greased the pan with some butter. Why? I’m still mad at parchment paper. It’s a long story, but let’s just say that parchment paper has a lot of work to do to win me back.

The biggest challenge of this recipe was not overbaking the cookies. What is the name of this blog, after all? I am a cautious person. I never think my food is done when it’s supposed to be done. But I’m learning. And proud to report that I took the cookies out of the oven when instructed. The insides were indeed all soft and filled with goodness. Great strides, people!

And while these cookies were baking, my house smelled absolutely ridiculous.

Like the inside of a chocolate lava cake. With Oreos.

I let the cookies rest on the pan for about four minutes before transferring to a rack to cool. This is when I tried one. And as I chewed that first bite, the melty chocolate chunks and slight crunch of an Oreo piece colliding in fantastical ways in my mouth, I screamed out, “Ridiculous!!!!”

So yes, these cookies are pretty good and very simple to make. Highly recommended. I didn’t screw them up. Neither will you!


The recipe, from two peas & their pod (their cookies look soooo much prettier than mine, too!):

Triple Chocolate Oreo Chunk Cookies

ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup dutch processed cocoa
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup chopped white chocolate (I used baking chips)
1 cup chopped semi-sweet chocolate (I used bittersweet)
1 cup chopped Oreo cookies

directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat. Set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, sift flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa. Set aside.

3. With a mixer, cream butter and sugars together until smooth. Add in eggs, one at a time. (Yeah, I put them both in together because I’m lazy!) Next, add in vanilla extract. Mix until blended.

4. Slowly add flour mixture to sugar mixture and mix until flour disappears. Stir in chocolate chunks and Oreos (you need some muscles for this!). Drop cookie dough by rounded tablespoons onto prepared baking sheet, about 2 inches apart.

5. Bake cookies for 8-10 minutes. Don’t over bake. Remove from oven and let sit on baking sheet for 3-5 minutes. Move to a cooling rack and cool completely.

One thought on “ridiculous triple chocolate oreo chunk cookies…

Leave a Reply

